Tuesday, September 27, 2022

This is humbling and amazing. The Tripitaka Koreana

The Tripitaka Koreana - carved on 81258 woodblocks in the 13th century - is the most successful large data transfer over time yet achieved by humankind. 52 million characters of information, transmitted over nearly 8 centuries with zero data loss @incunabula

I make fun of the cool-but-mostly-useless graphs produced by the various Tools for Thought”, but I can’t deny the cool part. Here’s part of my Org-roam graph, produced by Org-roam-UI.

Org-Roam UIOrg-Roam UI

90% of what I need emacs for is configuring emacs @brendancully

If I spent my time getting better at using Emacs instead of trying every single alternative (multiple times) I’d be so good at Emacs by now.

It’s cool that there’s a new status tool from the OMG.lol folks but it’s really adding a lot of static to my feeds. Maybe things will settle down once the novelty wears off.