Light snow 26.6 | Low 25.7, High 36.5

Monday, March 18, 2024

Yesterday, on daily.baty.net, I wrote:

Today I woke up and my first thought was, Oh right, I’m back in Tinderbox again.” What will I wake up to tomorrow?

I suppose then the answer is Emacs and Markdown and Blot.im”.


You’ll have to excuse me for rambling here today. I need to talk about why, after a week on everything but Emacs, I’m now back in Emacs and posting to the Blot blog. Tinderbox, Logseq, and Obsidian can be a fun change of pace, but I can’t figure out why anyone who has become proficient using Emacs and Org-mode would ever stop using Emacs and Org-mode. Other than the mobile factor, there’s no reason to leave the comfortable, free, future-proof, and powerful environment of Emacs. Also, Markdown-mode in Emacs is very good.


Wow, my Blot folders were a disaster. There were nearly 100 conflicted copy” files from Nov. 2023. I had over 500MB of images in an old wp-content folder, but only 6 images were being used. I sure make a mess. It took an hour, but I think I have things cleaned up pretty well, now. Let’s keep it that way, eh Jack?